Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Upstairs for dancing

I once had a boss who would say 'Upstairs for thinking, downstairs for dancing' and this was his nod in the direction of acceptance that a smart mind was of greater merit in an office than a beautiful pair of handmade brogues. It always used to conjure up for me an image of Irish step-dancers who are as stiff as a Household cavalier above the hip sockets but who's legs are all higgledy piggledy below.
This four-lined snake in our hen-house is both thinking and dancing upstairs. I find it quite incredible that this creature can have a proportion of its body moving at very high speed while the rest of it is utterly motionless. The more I have thought about it the more fascinated I have become and given the chance, I'd be interested to try driving a snake body.

One day I will have an established pace to my life but until then I have been back-blipping;
7th May
8th May

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.