The Grey Corries

Earlier in the week you may have seen me cursing the diminishing snow fields in the Lochaber Mountains (the Grey Corries in particular) associated with a spell of unseasonably warm weather and sustained sunshine. For me good clear weather and the presence of decent snow fields to tramp across provide the perfect walking conditions in our local mountains.
I nearly always manage at least one walk in the Grey Corries during March or April in pursuit of the above but have not managed this year.

On the assuption of another decent day meeting my criteria I headed off for the GC very early this morning. I thought will I put shorts in the rucksack? definitely a hat for the sun.
By about 2500 feet the mist was balsting across in a chilly wind. I had my mountain shell jacket on by this time and a thermal hat such was the heat loss from my head. Next, the warm over trousers, I almost left at home, were pulled on. I was comfortable after that. The cloud continued to swirl around and its, weatherman promised, departure never occurred.
The final approch to Stob Coire Claurigh is along an ascending rocky ridge littered with huge angular boulders. With deep solid snow they are filled in and in summer they are easy to scramble over. At the edges of the snow I could see deep hollows forming under the the thick slab typically a metre or two deep. While the short snow traverses were easy it concerned me that I may unwittingly step on a thin section and go down up to my waist. It has happened to me before but not in such an exposed environment. They were passed without any problem but the mist and wind swirling across a narrow ridge really messes with your head.. Nine thirty am saw us at the top of SCC. This is the 14th highest Munro and in my opinion one of the best view points in Scotland. The onward Grey Corries ridge sparkles and zig zags off westward and beyond you are drawn to the bulk and height of Ben Nevis. To appreciate it this morning I could only close my eyes and make recollection of previous visits in my mind. Despite the lack of view there is still that sense of heightened awareness and you are there on your own to enjoy it. That, and Caley nibbling my oatcakes and cheese because he wouldn't eat his own breakfast at that early hour.
We continiued along the GC ridge and manged a couple of photos in brief clearings of the cloud. I ate my emegency Snickers bar but I found I had to break it in my fingers as my teeth would barely dent it.
 
The ridge completed we headed back towards Intake 6 and I found myself shedding the extra clothing. Looking back over my right shoulder I could see the entire ridge gleaming in the sun and the cloud gone for the day.       
 
A couple of extras of course:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.