Chores day

Well, it was supposed to be!

And then I examined the forecast for The Lakes. 

I nipped up last night in the van. On arriving at my camp spot, I discovered a man with a twisted knee and his friend descending in the fading light, I deposited them at the Brotherswater Inn and hoped that was karma for a good night's sleep.  Eight solid hours later, I awoke to an astonishingly blue sky.  Setting off up Hartsop Dodd, I quickly removed my fleece and rolled up my trousers.  

It was a beautiful day.  

I met a few people en route but actually spent a while walking with a chap from Suffolk who started fell running only three years ago, was in his fifties and came 67/300 in the Fairfield Horseshoe race yesterday.  I met him as I dropped down from Stony Cove Pike as he was coming up from the valley.  He was a little disappointed as he was doing well until everyone started flying on the downhill - there's not much in the way of hills where he is to practise on, but he'd impressed me anyway. We parted company on the top of High Street and I headed more directly down to Hayeswater.  I often like to weave across further towards Ullswater before dropping down but it was starting to get busy and I felt like I'd had the best part of the day.

I gave the van a good old spruce up before heading home.  I don't mind doing that over a coffee when I'm away but it's no fun to clean it on the drive!

So that was my chores day and a rather fine one it was too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.