Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 348: Afternoon Tea

I drive past a junk  vintage shop every day - see extras - and today I stopped for a browse. I couldn't resist the cake stand made of old vinyl records - how cool is that? Of course I then had to buy the cakes - and as I am on a diet it was torture setting them out and putting them all away again! Plenty for John to eat tonight.

Thank you for all the wishes for the birthday boy - he's also in extras with his lovely girlfriend.

Last night on our walk Lizzie and I came across an injured baby rook - it was enormous, and had fallen probably 40 feet. Poor thing. A fellow passer-by and I discussed whether either of us had the courage to put it out of its misery, and we didn't. In the end I wrapped it up in an old towel and took it to the vet - they confirmed it was not going to survive so they put it quickly to sleep. I was quite sad, but Sarah was incredibly pragmatic about it. I think a career in animal care is a good choice for her. We continued our walk later and I saw a big adult rook sitting on the wall nearby - I rather anthropomorphically decided it was the mother rook looking sadly for her offspring. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.