Thatch

I have ridden past this cottage for many years without noticing it is thatched! The village is Cropton and the reed thatch is being replaced. There are a suprising number of thatch cottages still remaining in this part of Yorkshire. One of the ladies who does Pilates lives in Pockley where there are two types of thatch. One being straw the other reed and she tells us that once you have a thatch of a particular variety you have to replace like with like.

It was an interesting bike ride. I encountered several escaped goats enjoying some illicit grazing on the roadside. Then as I returned home just as I turned a corner a Weasel whipped across in front of me with a mouth full of mouse. If only I had a head cam to record this event as it would have made a wonderful shot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.