IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Deer in the Meadow

Not one of the best photos I have ever taken...but it was almost dark  twilight...and though I approached quietly, the deer had seen me and were already on the move. So it was this or nothing.

The Broadband here is dreadful just now, this took twenty minutes to put online so I may not get around to many comments this evening, I'm afraid!

It's been a lovely day. Our forecast had said clouds and rain and stuff but we sat in the sun having breakfast and I could do my morning exercise outdoors and later on had a productive but relaxed time in the garden. Whitefly had descended upon my thai basil seedling just as it was looking good. But I have made up this dreadful brew of nicotine which was recommended by Lawrence Hills, the organic guru and forerunner of Bob Flowerdew. This was produced by immersing the contents of my daughter's ashtray in boiling water and keeping it on the boil on an old camping stove in the garden for ten minutes then straining the liquid. It smells evil!
So I gave the basil and whitefly a thorough spraying...the roses had an even worse dose of aphids so I gave them a good going over too. 
However not all of the day has been about destruction. There has been a lot of tidying up stuff in the garden, getting rid of a pile of black plastic we used to suppress weeds, potting things up and planting out. Plus a bit of enjoyable sitting around in the sun drinking tea and chatting. So life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.