DomPix

By DomPix

The Twig...

I've been suffering cycling withdrawal symptoms since Bradley Wiggins won the Tour de France on Sunday. When he led into the last stretch, with Mark Cavendish in tow to pick up the stage win, I thought it one of the best, most thrilling moments in sport. Ever.

Since then, the early evening slot has been a bit dull without the TdF highlights to watch on Eurosport or ITV4.

So I am re-reading his autobiography, which was published in 2008 after his stunning successes at the Beijing Olympics, and updated in 2009 to include his ride in the Tour that year. And what did I find on page 214? This:

"...having accepted that I am never going to be a Tour de France winner - although a stage before I retire would be nice - the Olympics has massive significance for me."

He really is extraordinary. I wonder if he meant that. And I wonder what he may achieve in London 2012 if he retains his fitness and has no accidents...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.