Flower Still Life ( 'en plein air' )

When I was having one of my sessions at Dunbar Garden Centre a couple of weeks ago I was trying to think of yet another possible background for flowers that I was shooting. As the flowers were fairly tall I took the out into the open plant section and placed them on a pedestal and then shooting from low down I set them against the sky. With a bit of work done to brighten up the flowers as the contrast had been quite strong they made a reasonable image and may even make it to the exhibition.

I must have had this in mind this afternoon when I shot a still life of some alstroemeria we have as cut flowers as I took them out onto the deck and shot then against  the sky, some distant trees and against the grassy meadow which is adjacent to our raised deck. In the end I felt the grassy background suited the subject best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.