Why did the turtle cross the road

I was on my way to work and saw this turtle trying to cross two lanes of heavy traffic. By the time I turned around (because you know I did), she had made it onto the median. She obviously intended to continue on and cross the other two lanes to reach the field beyond.
When she started to cross, all I could do was go with her and try to direct traffic into the other lane. Luckily, another animal lover had also turned around to help and used her car to block the lane.
Because we were dealing with a turtle (very slow and needing many rest breaks), it was obvious that we needed help so my new friend called the police. I honestly thought they would laugh, but they told her that they had already received several calls and were on their way.
Just as the police arrived to direct traffic, this guy stopped his car and got out, told me it was a snapping turtle (which I knew and why I was 6 feet away) and then calmly picked her up by the tail and carried her to safety. Easy peasy.
The girl who stopped to help said it was sure to be a good day with this kind of start, and it was for the most part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.