Fay's Photo Challenge

By Faylm

Keys

Today's theme is: Keys

These are my house keys. Pretty run of the mill things until you start really thinking about it.

I received both my house keys when we moved into our house on 19th April 2002. They are keys to the first home my husband and I have owned (previously lived in a council flat) .

When we moved in, I was 9 months pregnant with my son...we moved in on the Saturday and he was due on the Wednesday.

These are the keys to the place where my son was born, on the 26th April 2002...in less than an hour on the kitchen floor!

These are the keys to a house that has seen my children grow up to almost teenagers, that have been where first steps have been taken and first words spoken.

There is also a cat keyring...given to me by my best friend of 18 years..she took it back to me from her holidays a couple of years ago.

I have no idea why I am still walking about with a broken keyring on it..it was originally one of these trolley coins thing for CLAPA but the smile fell off and I've trundled the broken bit round..I should really take it off

Some day these keys will belong to someone else, to be carried around in their pocket or bag to hold the keys to their own set of experiences and memories

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.