Bliss

I spent three hours today at our local community college taking a course titled "Press Here -- Acupressure for Animals". When I signed up for it my motive was to find out if there were ways to relax Cinder, my daughter's hyper cat.  Since we have four cats between us I figured one of them could benefit.  It was a very interesting afternoon to be sure.  We learned how to release tension, establish balance, relieve muscle spasms, build up the immune system and balance yin/yang.  

We haven't tried any of this on Cinder yet, but I spent some time this evening exploring all Lizzie's pressure points and finding her "meridians" so I could restore her life force energy.   I had been directed to ask her permission to invade the various pressure points of her plus-size body.  I'm not sure she agreed but I proceeded anyway.  Lizzie used her new-found life force energy to swat me on the arm when I invaded a sensitive crevice and then stalked off in a snit when I tried to restore harmony to her spleen meridian.  She gave me a second chance a bit later and allowed me to "Tui Na", pinch/ pull the loose skin around her shoulder area.  That seemed to meet with approval because she started to purr.  I rubbed behind her ears and right above her eyebrows.  She fell asleep.  Success.  

I don't know how much further I'll get with Lizzie, but now, I'm very interested in investigating acupressure for myself.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.