Subh Milis

Bhí subh milis
Ar bhascrann an dorais.
Ach mhúch mé an chorraí
Ionam and d'éirigh
Nuair a smaonaigh mé ar an lá
Go mbeadh an bhascrann sin glan,
Agus an lámh beag
Ar iarradh.

So, I haven't looked up those words at all (will do after I post this)--I rooted around in my Inter Cert memory bank for the words, and the line breaks. Let's see how good my memory is.

I found myself sitting behind Nuala ní Dhomhnaill at a discussion at the Irish embassy this morning, and all I could think of was jam and doors and missing hands.

A bit of gardening, a bit of outside drinking, a bit of friend seeing, a massive salad from the garden for dinner, then a trip to the Kennedy Center to see Martin Hayes and Dennis Cahill and a few others. This guy was playing the 'earth harp' in the foyer before the show. Who knew what an earth harp was?


Update: I've looked up the poem, and I didn't do so badly:

Bhí subh milis
Ar bhaschrann an dorais
Ach mhúch mé an corraí
Ionam d’éirigh,
Mar smaoinigh mé ar an lá
A bheas an bhaschrann glan,
Agus an láimh bheag
Ar iarraidh. 


The only (minor) problem: NníD didn't write it! Apparently it was Séamus Ó Néill. I'm sure ag minus 50 knew that. You can't win them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.