Far Pavilions

I turned up to the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion Preview at 6.30 prompt, thinking I might be early, to find mobs of trendy young people all over the four smaller summer houses down by Queen Mary’s Temple . So I had a nose around the  structures- more giant sculpture installations than pavilions. Interesting and some good angles in the evening light. Similarly there should be some good sunrise perspectives. Apparently one of them can be tipped on its side to produce a different configuration.

They were being explained to us punters by very serious looking men  in a uniform of dark lightweight suits, open neck white shirts and mullet hairstyles. Goatee beards were optional. A good reason for Brexit would be the banning of mullets from our shores. But I haven’t heard Boris mention this.

I then moved on to the main pavilion. In my opinion it is fab. A honeycomb of fibreglass shoeboxes going up to a point. This was even more crowded. It seemed you could get a free beer but I passed on that and didnt bother. There was a queue to get in and out with lots of poseurs hanging around in the middle. 

Most people were looking trendy but not cutting edge. I was getting a lot of looks. I was flattered by the admiring glances at my smart jacket. But after a few minutes of this I realised that the looks were more likely to be because I was the oldest person there by about 20 years. They must have been wondering why I had been let out for the evening, and where was my white coated carer.

I took some snaps, made an excuse and left. Went on to Guys and Dolls which is my favourite musical. So many songs which are now American song book standards. If I was a Bell I’d Be Ringing; Luck Be a Lady Tonight; Sit Down Your Rocking The Boat...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.