Only in Abingdon

A weird and wacky tradition that happens in Abingdon, is Bun Throwing. The 2016 bun throw was the 34th since the tradition of Bun Throwing in Abingdon-on-Thames began in 1761. The first event was held to celebrate the coronation of King George III. Obviously this bun throw was to celebrate the Queens 90th birthday. I'm guessing the next bun throw will be coronation of King William.
I am not a royalist, but I enjoyed the occasion. The atmosphere was really good and friendly.
I avoided actually trying to catch the buns - as didn't want to further damage my healing hand, but took photos. My partner, however, managed to catch 9 buns. 8 were ordinary ones, but one had a '90' on the top. See the extra photos.
Also more photo and write up by the Oxford mail

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.