This evening I attended a candlelight vigil at a park in downtown Sarasota in memory of the 49 people murdered in Orlando.  There were people from all over town:  young, old, straight, gay, black, white, brown, men, women, children, dogs, firemen, police officers, Moms, Dads, grandmothers, grandfathers.  People from all walks of life.  Several people spoke, including a young man who is a friend of Eddie Sotomayor, the man from Sarasota who was the first to be identified after the shootings.  I never knew Eddie, but from his friend, I know he was a guy who would have been great fun to hang out with, was a wonderful friend to all who knew him and he was one of our own, a Sarasota boy.  The image I decided to post is one man's hand......he was standing close by and I saw the wax dripping down his hand as he held the candle and asked if I could photograph his hand.  He said yes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.