alastairc

By alastairc

Remain

I walked to work this morning listening to more fantasy promises about post-Brexit Britain, made by fatuous rich Leave politicians who will be completely unaffected by the financial, legal and diplomatic chaos they are trying to bring about.  

I listened to them whip up racist hysteria and claim - repeatedly claim - figures that have been proven as lies, figures they know are lies.  I am ashamed that this is working, that the people of my country are responding to this.  

I am watching my country decide that it wants to retreat from the world because it's too difficult to take part, because if it can't get everything its own way then it won't play.  I am watching human, worker, environmental and consumer rights, carefully built up over decades, being derided as something to be destroyed in the name of "reducing regulations".

I am, to my surprise, actually furious about this.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.