solaev21

By solaev21

EU referendum

The recent referendum events (in particular the Ukip campaign poster "breaking point") was my personal breaking point too. I am so sad and just cannot believe that people accept slogans like this. Does nobody think about how these "oh so awful immigrants" feel - or how Brits would feel if they are treated like this in other parts of the world?

I am German, but have lived in Scotland nearly 20 years. During this time, I have never heard a bad comment about my origins. More the opposite: I have only met open and lovely people and have friends from all over the world. I had not planned to move to the UK, but I fell in love with a wonderful man during an university expedition. What do you do? Staying together meant one of us had to move - so that was me. We have a son, who is bilingual and proud of his mixed heritage. I have made Scotland my home, I am happy here and love the people and country. But what now? I feel very uncomfortable at the moment - and just don't know what we should do if Britain leaves the EU :(((

*Update:" Sad doesn't begin to cover it. This is worse, much worse than just sad" Alex Massie. Thank you ArcLight for the link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.