Flying!

This is my Ex Wide Pregnant Friend's daughter flying with her uncle round the kitchen and front room at great speed and much enjoyment for both! I finally met up for lunch with her today after many cancelled meetings due to events for both of us  over the last year. Her daughter is now over a year old and the extension work she had been planning to have done finished!! She made lunch and I provided pudding and drink from waitrose and we had a great catch up! Her daughter loved the Jelly Cat Lupin Mouse I gave her, she is now the age to appreciate it as I bought it over a year ago!! Lots of photos taken! She really is a sweetie and for someone who never wanted children I was amazed again at how much fun I had playing with her ! I guess that's why I became a teacher, I got to play with other peoples children all day then hand them back at the end of the day!! My friend  has been doing supply work at my old school to help pay off the inevitable overspend on the extension work! Apparently things have gone from bad to worse, and having consulted her Tarot cards she believes s the next OFSTED will finally catch up with them! She consulted them last time so knew it wasn't to be then  but this times the card say yes! I do hope so for the sake of the children and care staff. 
I left in time to miss the evening rush hour - but being friday it was earlier as I should have known so I crawled all the way to and over the Tamar Bridge back into Cornwall. Stopped again at Waitrose and before I knew it it was time to head back to the allotment, having opened them in the morning. Sadly when I put them to bed last night I had found Alice dead in the coop. But I'm relieved we didn't have to call on the services of the guy from the village to put her down. I buried her on my spare half plot next to Doris. The coop looks so empty with only 11 girls. Felicity has a bit of a raspy voice and I fear she will be the next to go at some point. 
It was a truly beautiful evening on the allotment - a mostly clear sky but with enough clouds to catch the sun and they  changed from a rosy to a peachy to a grey colour with the moon playing hide and seek behind them. The owls were hooting, the bats flying and my incinerator sending a plume of smoke upwards! The Midnight Gardener came up and started strimming her paths in the darkness! Lucky I was there as the strimming bit came off and I managed to find it for her with the torch on my mobile phone! 
I have been pulling up the long grass each time I go up which is taller than me and whose flower  heads look quite delightful rising above the tall daisy like flowers. Unfortunately I am coming down with a cold or the pollen from the grass has set off my long dormant hayfever! I have taken an antihistamine and will see how I feel tomorrow! I want to do more on my plot and a stinking cold I do not need! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.