CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Mablethorpe

Today we drove up to Mablethorpe to see my Mum and Dad, they are at their bungalow for the summer and I have not seen them since February.
 
Here you have Dad acting the ‘goof’.  Dad has limited eyesight, but he loved his new talking watch…. however, he has probably already forgotten how to press the button that tells him the time.  I had to tell him ‘it’s the same button you pressed when getting ready for the marathon(s) to record your time Dad’.  He smiled. He remembered.  Somewhere, there is a man who isn’t locked away.  Present time sees a man, who I call Dad locked away, in his own thoughts, his own memories.  Are they happy ones?  Are they sad ones?  I don’t know, he won’t say….. there is time that has lapsed but he hasn’t forgotten.  Its current time he no longer knows.  He didn’t know me; he knew I was something to him…a RAF nurse? A sister? A daughter? A cousin?  Someone close enough to give a peck on the cheek.  The peck will have to do!
 
Happy Daddy Day Daddy, to the man I no longer know but long to remember as the strong, sensible, caring, passionate marathron freek!
 

(ps please excuse the window reflections!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.