A Glimmer of Hope

Facebook informed me this morning that it was the first day of summer.

Imagine my consternation that not only was it particularly wet this morning (leading to heavy traffic and the need to find alternative routes to work) but more importantly the fact that the summer solstice is actually tomorrow - marking the exact middle of summer. There's a clue in the name 'Midsummer.'

A little research led me to discover that in astronomy, they actually do count today as the first day of summer but as I am neither an astronomer or particularly warm (at least this morning), I metaphorically wiped Facebook's smug smile of a message of its face (pressed the little 'X' in the corner).

Of course, the appearance of sunshine and blue skies this afternoon was most welcome and did wonders to cheer me up from my mood amongst the pile of marking and feedback I was struggling through.

Smile
Rob

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.