Seminar Day 2 - Wrapping Up + Dinner

Instead of heading straight for Marconiplein, drove to work first and picked up the rest of my exams, no rush, then to the seminar about 12 km. away.  Caught the last round of group meetings just before lunch.  As usual, for lunch, we had sandwiches and coffee.  It's during such moments that I find myself missing a REAL lunch, Philippine-style -- warm rice, soup, meat or fish, vegetables, and a grand dessert.  After lunch, two rounds of getting to know each other's departments and absorbing ideas about how to integrate various subjects to give the students a more well-rounded view of the programme as a whole, followed, finally, by a general wrapping up and drinks.  A number of us skipped the drinks and opted to walk ahead to the organic restaurant around the corner, where I took this shot.

It was a beautiful day altogether -- perfect weather (who'd have guessed!), wonderful colleagues, freshly prepared food (especially the yummy fish), and a warm convivial atmosphere.  I looked at the intercultural make-up of the table I sat at -- one American (she'll be on maternity leave in 3 weeks), one Pole, one Lithuanian, one Macedonian, one Bulgarian, one Filipina (me), one Dutchman.  Topics of conversation -- corruption in the Balkans, Balkan politics and history, homosexuality and homophobia, availability of babysitters, immigration and passport requirements, Slavic jokes, anything but the new curriculum.  This shot was taken in the garden of the restaurant, where the owners grow their own veggies, herbs and flowers.  Just before the dessert, a member of management approached and thanked me for all the shots I took that day, especially my mug shots of the colleagues, and gave me a training sweater with the school's logo on it.  I doubt I'll ever wear it at work.  On the way home, I dropped off a colleague at her place and we agreed to go out together sometime soon.

A most beautiful and satisfying day!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.