Gochan6

By Gochan6

Port Stephens Pelican overhead.

We came across a scene where two old men of the sea were feeding out fish scraps. At first it looked like a swarm of seagulls in the air overhead, but as we got closer, I realised there were also these massive pelican's in on the action as well - maybe 15 - 20 of them - and they were all in the air - just hanging in the fair breeze that was blowing - like giant prehistoric looking birds.
I was practically outta the car before I'd even stopped it - camera in hand. Next decision - go directly underneath this whole mass of hovering seagulls and huge pelicans, or take the safe route around the edges. I went the direct route, and unbelievably, didn't cop one touch of it. Stand out in the open with no birds overhead, and you'll get hit by a stray bird cr@p from an invisible bird, but go right under a flock of seagulls and pelicans - and not a touch.
I already had the 70-200 lens on and didn't think I'd have time to change for a wider angle - to catch the whole freeding frenzy - so settled for a single pelican - gliding on the breeze overhead. Bummed I clipped his wing tip, but still happy with the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.