Saturday: Raising Spirits

Well, these two helped cheer me up this afternoon. My cousin, Joe, and his girlfriend, Stacey, are in town this weekend so we met up this afternoon in Camden. We had a great time - they are a great couple, really interested in everything and very level-headed.

Naturally, we talked about the referendum. Although you can't tell from this photo, they, like me, are gutted. It's also personal for them - Joe works in an area that is 20% EU funded. Stacey works with farmers on sustainable agriculture and it's 100% funded by the EU. So that will go.

They told me an interesting anecdote about a friend who voted 'out' as a protest vote against the government. When he saw the result on Friday, he sat with his head in his hands, saying: 'What have I done?'. In fact, a new word has entered the debate today: 'Bregret'. I've seen a lot of people interviewed on the TV who said they wished they hadn't voted out, and they hadn't thought it would really happen. Too late now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.