Lakeland Dipper 31

Harrop

After struggling to sleep, I was in a morass and listened my way through all that I could from Thought for the Day to Any Questions? and Any Answers? whilst making bread and watching heavy showers pass through. I talked to my sister. We are a European family. The immediate impact on her husband's one man business. I thought of my father and all the wartime and post war fears. I wondered what he would say. I looked out the window and wondered about the local farmers. I tried to get my head around what has happened - what really went through the minds of all those who voted or didn't vote? What does it say about our political systems, what does it say about democracy, what does it say about our attachments, our safety seeking, our risk taking, our beliefs, our values....?

Unsurprisingly I needed to get some air. It was late but I decided that I needed to go and see the chaps. I wanted to go and tell them all about it. As I head up, my internal voice emerges. I check in and greet each tree and clump of moss and liverwort, they are all such old friends...'evening...hi there...how are you doing...' It is like a walk through my neighbourhood, nodding and greeting all those that have watched over me all these years. I love them all. When I got to the tarn the fish were rising, quizzing me gently for news. As I slid into the peaty waters I told the chaps all about it. They were both so politically astute, so much more than me. I am glad there are no graves. This way I can swim with them. As I struck out into the middle I stopped and floated, an immense darkness beneath, I turned onto my back and looked around and then swam into the unknowing. We will all become silt in the end, part of 'earths diurnal course, with rocks and stones and trees'.

p.s. on a lighter note when I was looking at Tony's blip I was reminded, rather ironically and pertinently, of the Quatermass Xperiment (or, The Creeping Unknown). Classic!

In addition, slipping back into the place where I am ... I wanted to add 
this, for my husband. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.