Modern Architecture

One thind which impressed me about Helsinki was the amount of building and new development which is going on. Apartment blocks and shopping malls seem to be popping up all over the place and the city skyline is festooned with the trademark cranes.
Unfortunately, we Irish became all too familiar with exactly the same conditions a few short years ago, before the bottom fell out of the business and with it the economy went down the tubes. This worries me. Another thing which worries me is the cost of buying an apartment. Two Hundred Thousand Euro wont buy very much. The last time I saw such prices was in the last few months before the Irish economy imploded. Too much money borrowed from foreign banks! How does anyone reasonably expect to pay back this sort of crazy money in a single lifetime? I hope the Finns know what they are doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.