TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Summer Has Begun!

“OH dear! is Summer over?”
I heard a rosebud moan,
When first her eyes she opened,
And found she was alone.

“Oh, why did Summer leave me,
Little me, belated?
Where are the other roses?
I think they might have waited.”

Soon the little rosebud
Saw to her surprise
Other rosebuds opening,
So she dried her eyes.

Then I heard her laughing
Gaily in the sun,
“I thought Summer was over:
Why, it ’s just begun!”

~ Oliver Herford, The First Rose of Summer


I was driving through town yesterday when these wonderful pink roses in Fountain Park just sort of burst into my awareness. 
Since I neglected to take a photo today and these lively bushes lining the walkway to a bunting trimmed gazebo pretty much epitomizes the concept of a sunny and tranquil June day at the park, I thought it would be perfect for this first-day-of-Summer Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.