ExBeeb

By Exbeeb

Mike in the mix

I did sit down long enough today to watch the Hungarian GP and see Lewis win it again. Now there's a five week gap of no F1, so I have no idea what I'll do with myself. ;)

Actually not had much other time to play today or even blip! Did wash the cars this morning. I am rather late to the delights of Zipwax, having been an Autoglym person, but now I am sold on the way it polishes as you wash!

Had to throw most of my Sunday out to do some fast turnaround voice-over work, which I know sounds fun and easy, but it is rather intense. First you need a very quiet studio. Not possessing a deep basement BBC-type studio, outside noise intrusion is a common problem. Punching in fluff retakes and erasing breaths and clothing noises is another detail often overlooked. then there is the proofing - listening not just for technical glitches, but making sure nothing has been missed. On top of all that, keeping the flow of the item going, which can mean pasting in some ambient noise between words or indeed taking a few milliseconds out.

But just imagine what it was like before digital audio workstations were invented - hundreds of feet of magnetic tape would need snipping and sticking with the prospect of dropouts and clicks spoiling the piece.

Ah well, back to the mixer for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.