Prayer Time

I went to Doncaster to observe my paramedic student from the Leeds course run an exam session.

I decided to get more of a feel for the place and caught the bus from the rail station to the ambulance station on the outskirts. It is too easy to pigeon-hole places - and people.

On the way back, got off the bus early and wandered through some of the back streets. One I walked down was such a vibrant mix of Turkish, Lebanese, Polish, Rumanian, Latvian shops, social centres and businesses; and probably more countries than I've listed.

I felt so sad that my vote (and many other Northerners now on the wrong side of 30...) hadn't been enough to Remain. I just wanted to stop and chat to these guys in the street with their prayer beads. But then, say what?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.