momcat1

By momcat1

This is why they call them the Green Mountains....

Our middle child (25yo) is in Vermont this summer, so we took the long weekend to go up and visit . It's about a 6 hour drive from home. Since we had to go through Burlington we stopped  there yesterday to visit an old friend I haven't seen in probably 8 years who is with the U of Vt med school and had a very late lunch before  bumbling off to Montpelier. Today we went to Camel's Hump State Park and took a "short" trail, supposedly 2.4 miles up to the peak . We did not quite make it . I suspect it was either a little longer than 2.4 miles or when you are going up and up and up it feels like a lot more than 2.4 miles. And just maybe my knees aren't as young as I like to think they are. We called it quits at an area where the trail went straight up over 2 large boulders that I was not sure I could climb up as they were barely angled backwards  and it was another 30min to the peak from there.  I think I could have made it to the top ( if I could have figured out how to get over the boulders) , but I was concerned about getting back down . The more tired you get the more likely you are to make a mistake, slip and not be able to catch yourself. Falling over a cliff wasn't going to happen , but I don't want any broken bones if I can help it. Chicken you say ? You bet. So this shot is not the WOW isn't this gorgeous view of the Green Mountains from the peak I had hoped  for but the "green" from inside the greenery of the mountain.:))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.