Amanda's photos

By AmandaProsser

Mrs Brown

This lady raised at least two broods of chicks last year, and is on her second this year (they haven't fledged yet).  Part of the secret of her success is that she shamelessly follows me around the garden whenever I'm working there, collecting up the squishy invertebrates that may be exposed by my activities.  Another part is that she's happy to let herself into the workshop through the dogflap and help herself to any food there may be in there.  Since I keep bird food and pet food in there, there often is some.

We found last year that she was very partial to cat biscuits, especially when they'd been softened by soaking in water.  I don't need to put these out for her as she'll come in and help herself.  Here she is leaving with a beakful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.