Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Bamford Edge

I like it here, glorious views across the valley, not many people about and lovely rock...although it seems sharper than other gritstone I've met.  I did six routes, all Mods or Diffs, and there was one more Diff (Primitive Chimney) that I couldn't complete.  I got up the first bit to the ledge and then discovered that I didn't really fancy the rest of it, tried my hands in the best position to go down and didn't fancy that either... oops.  But there was an easy traverse under the next door overhang, so I went to have a look and luckily there were some big flakes to get hold of to lower myself down.  When I looked at the guidebook it seems that the traverse is a route in its own right, only I didn't finish it.

The extra is of a HUGE caterpillar 8-9cm long, which I think I've identified as an Oak Eggar, unless anyone knows different. 

Note to self: don't climb up anything you can't down climb... although I do find it difficult to tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.