Hortensias

It was hot here today in the Midi-Pyrenees, but nice dry heat.  I worked all day doing kitchen tiling and other assorted bricolage.  Our neighbours, Jeanine and Gaston, probably think I am crazy.  They have family visiting and, even though they are several hundred metres away, I could see them lounging all day by the side of their pool.  I'm sure they could see me trudging to and from the barn (where I have my workshop), carrying tools and tiles and wood and all kinds of stuff in the boiling heat.  They can't have escaped the noise of my giant tile cutting machine either, although I did strictly obey the noise curfew from 12 noon until 14.30.  But, yes, I am sure they think I am crazy "Vous êtes malades, les Irlandais" I swear I heard them say, in between dips into the pool and splashing and fun and laughter and sips at long cold drinks.  Pah!!!!!  Later, when it had cooled down a  bit (down to 21 degrees by 21.00) I spent some time watering the garden where so much was wilting under the heat.  The hydrangeas have blessed us this year with all the colours, blue, pink and violet, and it was lovely to stand and admire them and be washed by the cooling evening air.  And then; just enough time left in the day for Blip, bleary eyes and bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.