Roadtrip day 7 - The last day

3950km / 3950km in total

I don’t know what to tell you. We made it. The car made it. Tomorrow our car will go and get a diagnosis of it’s systems. We’ll be hopefully wiser after that. Then we can start planning our road trip to deep into the Finnish forest, to Savo.

We got up early in the morning and took the dogs for a beach walk. This morning we found the beach. And what a beautiful place it is! Then with some sand in our feet we got back to the hotel and planned our ferry ride and went to have breakfast. My omelette was the best I’ve truly ever had. I did tell the cook so too. And I posted it on their Facebook site. I need to learn how to do that. I’ve liked mine, but they are nothing compared to that cook. What a master.

After breakfast back to the road. It turns out we were about 700 meters from the boarder. We could have easily walked across the boarder with dogs. There was only the sign stating that it is the boarder. I have to say that we have now travelled on 8 countries and we’ve been stopped 0 - ZERO - times. This is easy! I do hope majority follows the rules so we can continue to live like this. We did see lot of abandoned custom booths on our way.

I have to say once again that Ainazi, Latvia was a wonderful place. Raw beautiful nature with stunning sea always has an impact on me.

Driving through Estonia with a quick stop at Pärnu to get tick repellents for dogs.

Calling the ferry line on the way and booking us a place on the ferry. We were in luck and they had cabins that are dog friendly still vacant. we didn’t get a cabin with a window, but as the ferry ride is only 3 hours it doesn’t really matter. I took a siesta and actually managed to fall a sleep. Hubby bought us coffees after I had slept and I was a new person after that.

Our first stop was my parents storage room after we got foo the ferry. I went through our stuff. About 7 boxes and picked the stuff we’ll need for our stay here. Also we got the keys to our son’s flat.

Then all the bags and luggages to 5th floor. Now they are 80% untouched. I need to fix a single bed for us. The spare bed did not fit in the car, so my parent will bring it tomorrow. So tonight we need to sleep like when we were newly in love and could sleep in one small bed. When given a chance in hotels, we book two beds. We just sleep better that way. So yes, we’ve become old, or at least I have.

Right now I can barely keep my eyes open so perhaps we’ll manage tonight. Tomorrow I’ll continue unpacking. You know this is the first time in my life - ever - that I have not unpacked immediately. Even as a child if I was told to go to bed, I would do that and after they turned the lights down I went to clear the toys away in the dark. I was just build to be type A. ;-)

Hyvää yötä!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.