Gardening

Much as I love having a garden, I'm not really a very keen gardener. For a long time - when I lived here before - I had a gardener who came a couple of times a month. Chatting to him, he clearly loved gardening and I loved the results; everyone was happy.

Since I've been back in the house, the Minx has done loads in the garden when she's been up here, but the one thing that needs more regular attention is the lawn. Today, as I stood on the deck, having a coffee, I realised that the grass desperately needed cutting. It has to be very long for me to notice. (In fact, that reminds me of a spoof advert that Peter Cook once wrote for Private Eye, offering 'screaming Hawaiian grass' that started screaming once it grew beyond a certain length.)

I think that this maybe the first time in my life that I have cut the lawn without being prompted by someone else first. In fact, I got so carried away that I cleared the plants that were overgrowing the steps down to the garden, too (see photograph). Later, the Minx told me that, ideally, that should have been done at the end of the summer. That is enough of an excuse for me to limit my horticultural adventures to lawn cutting in future :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.