Fallen tree

As I had governors' meetings at both nine o'clock and four o'clock today, and as the kids were off school due to the NUT strike, I decided to work from home. 

Abi went into Lancaster with a friend of hers to go to the cinema (chauffeured by said friend's father, happily), so I suggested to Dan that he and I might pop out for lunch. 

On our way, we were held up briefly by a short queue of traffic on the hill to the east of Devil's Bridge. A tree had fallen, apparently spontaneously, into the road. It was, oddly, sort of exciting.

We avoided it on the way back, though,  because, over lunch, Dan and I had discussed the old railway lines and Kirkby Lonsdale station, which is about two miles from the town and which he didn't know about. So our route back followed the old train tracks and we also stopped for a look at the station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.