BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Moscow State : Street Still 4

I've been off work today with a really bad cold - I can't believe I've managed to catch one in the middle of summer!
This sign was actually advertising a circus but the words "The Moscow State" did get me thinking about Putin and the way he has handled dissent since he came back into power. He seems to broke no criticism or humour at his expense, a particular example being the prosecution of the group Pussy Riot, some of whom could end up with prison sentances of over 7 years for expressing their beliefs in an anti- Putin song. Some countries in Europe, including Britain, seem to be willing to ignore the human rights abuses in countries like China and Russia as long as it means fat commercial business and trade contracts. I just thought the sign exemplified the thought in some quarters about looking at the shiny surface of "The Moscow State" without thinking about what lies beneath it all!
Sorry if I went a bit political there but there is quite a lot of hypocrisy when it comes to politicians ideals and their willingness to do deals with odious little creeps like Putin.
This sign was just at the top of my road where there's a shortcut through a gap in the fence to the local retail park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.