A surprise treat

Ailie had train vouchers she needed to use quickly so very generously took Chris and me to Edinburgh for the day. It was all last minute and a lovely treat.

We all went to the Celt exhibition at the National Museum. It was so interesting I went back later. The extra is from the roof of the museum.

It hardly helped the post-Brexit Blues to know we were all European Celts 2500 years ago.

After it we went our separate ways, Ailie to the Dovecote Gallery and Chris to the shops. I went to the Scottish Parliament as I'd not been for 10 years, and as it was on recess I got a talk and a tour free of charge. I love the building, both inside and out. The blip is from the public area of the debating chamber with Salisbury Crags in the background.

Then I went to the Dovecote Studio and was lucky enough to hit the time when there was a free curator's tour of the art exhibition. It was a bit gloomy but getting the tour meant I got more out of it.

We all met at David Bann for some tasty vegetarian food before getting the train back.

Mr C is fed up as he's discovered he needs to have a medical and fill in a big form as he's over 70 so can't be trusted with a camper van till he gets this done. Earliest appointment is in 2 weeks! So he's cheered himself up by booking a ski holiday where he gets a cheap lift pass because he's over 70. And I will too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.