Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A trip to the airport

Popped down to the library for some surfing on the iPad, and discovered a whole new bit of library at the back. It's the busiest library I've ever seen. Even had a computer class going on.

From there we drove down to the Sunshine Coast Airport, about half an hour away, to pick up our friend G, who had flown up from Sydney.

A lovely drive back up the coast road (although there is also a highway inland a bit if you're in a hurry) and in time for a delicious lunch at our favourite Sunshine Beach Surf Club.

Back home and a walk down to the river to see the sunset, and perchance some pelicans...

Yes, Percy was there with Priscilla- hanging around a fisherman gutting his catch. My blip is of them trying to catch a morsel. This fisherman hadn't had much of a catch and so didn't throw huge great hunks of fish heads, so we didn't have the huge lump-in-the-gullet scenario, thankfully. I liked the way the light caught Percy's pink throat.

G and JR wandered on, knowing I'd fiddle about with the pelicans for ages, trying to get that flight photo. No luck again! In fact, I couldn't find the other two again, and assumed they'd given up and walked on home.

However, when I got back to the house - it was in darkness. Luckily I felt I could pop over to K's house, and joined her in a wine and a yak until the lights came on here. Rang to say where I was, case there was panic stations at my non-appearance, as it was pitch dark. Left it a suitable amount of time before wandering home for tea.

And do you know, my wee pal in Jersey, who has taught there for years, actually taught K's son in law! What a small world! Or a small Jersey anyway!

Everglades tour tomorrow. The excitement continues!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.