Step Two of the Sand-hill Shuffle

For the last couple of weeks, I thought sure this was a "crane couple." Now, I'm not so sure.

I watched as the smaller of the two picked up a feather, and started tossing it in the air. Then, it was like it was tag-team wrestling. The one who had just done the "feather dance" motioned to the other one to take over. The other bird would find the feather, and re-start the dance.

Perhaps a mating ritual...a mother and juvie out playing...or two toddlers on their own? I don't know. If it is a mating ritual...as soon as I'm done posting...I'm going out in the back yard to look for a feather. Give the feather a whirl...give it a swirl...give it a twirl...in my living room tonight. Who knows...it might work. Wish me luck.

My problem with the two birds? 1. Couldn't they have moved out of the shade, and into the sun? 2. Couldn't they have moved so I didn't have the road as a background?

Always on the lookout,
for something to fill the Blip bill.
No matter how they're related...
I never tire of seeing the sand-hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.