Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Wherever I Lay My Hat...

This car park was once a beautiful red and white brick Baptist church which had become too big for the dwindling elderly congregation. The building was sold and demolished recently and the church now use, temporarily, their old hall at the rear. My understanding is that they will be provided with a replacement church on the original site when a new multi-storey building is constructed, perhaps on the second or third floor. The comes from a conversation I had a few years ago with a chap who worked there. Not sure if this is still the plan. A large number of old churches in Belfast have been sold for development into apartments, bars or demolished to make way for new buildings. I'm not religious, but I'm sorry to see these lovely old historical places being destroyed by the wrecking ball.

My Extras are a couple of people shots taken this afternoon in William Street South. The building on the right housed, among other things, the first retail store I managed back in the early '80s, Crazy Prices, Central Arcade.

Excuse the Lightroom preset on all three shots. I like what it does to each picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.