Hummingbird

When I was in Seattle Art Museum, I was fascinated by the impressive collection of Native American Art, and especially the gallery depicting life and art along the Northwest Coast. As I am, on this wet miserable day, back to cutting and sticking and creating my scrapbook/journal of our US adventure, I have been reminded of our visit there. And I also remembered this little figure, which I bought from the Museum. It was carved from cedar wood by Artie George, the great nephew of Chief Dan George, both from the Coast Salish First Nations Territory.

I do like the symbolism of some of this art – ‘the face of humanity at one with nature and the great spirit within’. One of the reasons I chose the Hummingbird was because of the spirit of friendship it depicts. And we certainly experienced great friendship in Seattle. So, through this blip, I remember the friendship of NannaK and H, who made our visit to Seattle so special.
 
The book is one that I also bought, as I loved the illustrations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.