The oldest tree around

After a walk to the old hollow tree, we visited a friend, an old neighbor whom I go to see all too seldom. The tiny little old house was busy, her oldest daughter had come to clean-up, her son popped in, too. They both told me separately she hasn't been well at all last few weeks, plenty of problems. The nurse came in to give her the medicines, a bath and a hair-do. The curlers were already lined to the table according to their size.

She could hardly stand up but managed to make her way to the kitchen to make some juice with cookies for my kids. On her way she pointed me the brand new portrait of her youngest grand-grand child now two year old. I tried to tell her not to bother with the juice, then found it better just to follow her and help out.

You've been in my thoughts, she said. She didn't need to, I was already so glad we came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.