Ach, well...

So, I got an email today.

Remember a while ago I got a call that I was ridiculously excited about? Well, I did. It was from the BBC wanting to talk to me because I'd applied to go on an art show which is kinda like the Bake Off but for artists. Basically, ten amateur artists would be tutored by well regarded artists to see how good they could become. The idea of it sounded fantastic to me, not the TV bit, just the tuition bit.

So, I chatted to the assistant producer and blethered away ten to the dozen. Then I waited. Weeks and weeks. Finally I got another call asking me to go to an audition. I was hugely excited and went to the audition and had a wonderful time. I was interviewed on camera in the morning then did a painting exercise in the afternoon...along with 40 other people...plus 110 in other locations. There were 150 of us in all. For every one of us they'd had 120 applications, which to my mind meant I'd done okay to get an audition.

It was an eye-opener though. My fellow auditionees were so talented. I was amongst art teachers and art school graduates and many of them were amazing. I held my own but realised very quickly that I ought to just enjoy the audition and not pin all my hopes on it.

I've been quite pragmatic since which I think has helped me to be quite okay with the very nicely worded rejection email I received today. I am disappointed. It would have been massive fun but hey, that's life. My disappointment is kinda tempered by all the good things I'm lucky enough to have. So, onwards and upwards. I have plans to apply for an art course and I'm very excited about that. Hugely excited and I won't be anywhere near as pragmatic if I don't get in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.