River Stour

Had a trip with a friend to Dedham today to have a swim in the river Stour. We swam down to Flatford Mill and back. There were a few rowing boats about. Everyone was very pleasant and wanted to know if the water was cold, could we put our feet down that kind of thing. I think we were a bit of a talking point swimming along with our tow ropes.
Tow ropes are bright orange. They are inflatable and you can put your car keys and phone in them. They stay dry. You clip them around your waist and tow them along. If need be you can hold on to them and float.
You should never swim in places like this on your own so I was lucky my friend was available.
I have a wild swimming book and have been itching to try some of the rivers and lakes out. Unfortunately there aren't many in my area. We are going again next week and want to try somewhere new.
Had a little picnic after which was nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.