Low Tide

It was such a beautiful day that it proved hard to stay inside to clean all day. That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it.

In the evening I met a friend for a mini pub crawl which was amusing. We ended up in the St Vincent in Stockbridge where I met a lovely Dutch couple, stoking my desire to return to Amsterdam...

I had a funny conversation at one point with my friend. He recalled my education, my work in politics, my civil service career and said that he thought I was bonkers to waste all that intellect and talent on massage. "Anyone can rub someone and make them feel better." (I hope he didn't think that was a chat up line.) To me it makes perfect sense, which is just as well, really. Ever since I left academia, I've wanted to help people and massage is the most direct way I've found of doing just that. To be asked to physically touch someone, to be invited in like that, is a huge privilege and I'm grateful for that trust my clients place in me.

I was reminded of this after listening to Linda's CBC interview. Please have a listen - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2205784107848305066


PS It's three years since this blip - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3318636
What a lot has changed and it feels like the blink of an eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.