things you don’t expect to find in a garden centre

At least I don’t.  

One of our local garden centres (admittedly the most up-market of those around us) has a rather fine fruit and veg shop plus delicatessen attached to it.  It’s one of those places where you can buy your cheeses or meat products wrapped in brown paper, like the posh folks you see on TV.

I discovered to my surprise - and delight - that they also sell fresh bread.  This is German dark rye.  I got a real taste for German bread last October and I’ve been searching for something similar ever since.  This is the nearest I’ve found.

Lurking in the background is a Red Leicester cheese.  I’m not normally a fan, but this is just so tasty - it melts in the mouth.  Called Red Storm, it’s made in North Wales.  

Those who know about epicurean etiquette will notice that I have committed a cardinal sin, regarding the cheese - I have ‘nosed’ it - i.e., cut a bit off the pointy end.  This is simply not done in the best circles.  Which is probably why we don’t get invited to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.