Chawton, to Jane Austen's House

After breakfast, we were on time to catch Bus 64 from Winchester to Chawton.  Really had no idea that we would have time for this, so the surprise was doubly pleasant.  This shot shows hubby as he danced on our way into the village.  We were both in such high spirits!

Nothing spectacular about Jane A's house, as you might expect, but then, 'spectacular' isn't the right word to describe it anyway.  I saw her tiny round writing desk and wondered how I could ever complain about mine.  The rooms were tiny and hubby reminded me that people were smaller of stature at the time.  I had no idea that they had been poor as the house seems to have been quite comfortable, but, as I found out, it wasn't hers and they were living there on someone's generosity; it was family, yes, but generosity just the same.  I found it a pity that she died so young, but what a tremendous amount of work she'd managed to finish.  I have read Pride and Prejudice but have all her work at home, so you might say I'm super motivated now to read the other novels, and to observe how her life was reflected in them.  To think she single-handedly changed the character of the English novel -- how inspiring is that!

After Chawton, we returned to Winchester and had a snack, then back to the B&B for a long afternoon of rest.  Woke up earlier from the nap and worked on yesterday's shots.  Chawton's shots got their turn after dinner tonight.  Our stay here in Winchester has been so pleasant and even the weather has been quite mild.  I hope this will be an indication for the rest of our holiday.  Tomorrow ... well, you'll see where we'll be soon enough.

A couple of extras.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.