DancingAly

By DancingAly

Drizzly Day

All it did today was rain. Drizzle. Then some more rain. Then it dried out, and then, oh wait, it rained some more ;-)

Unfortunately, my friend J and I had chosen this evening for a lovely "summer" catch-up..... I haven't seen her in about three weeks, since her birthday, so we had a lot to catch up on ;-) 

I feel very unproductive in the holidays. A bit like every other part of my life. I have thought, for the last few months " If I do x, I will feel happier/normal/better etc" but I've slowly accepted that those things just aren't doing it for me anymore. 

I've waited for the summer vacation like a beacon of hope in the distance, the gold at the end of the rainbow, the prize at the end of a competition- I think most teachers do ;-) But this year just feels different. I'm not the same person anymore. I keep reminiscing about summers past, and wish I could turn back the clock. At least I was more content. 

Anyways, J and I met at Kings Cross. I swear the train smelled worse than usual today, it is a bit warm.... She wanted to go to a Spanish place, and I love Spanish food so it was all good. We found a little place to have sherry, but they weren't very keen to have us there, so we went to Caminhos opposite. Two sangrias and a shared platter latter I was a little less blue. I think it went straight to my head actually, so I suspect I was a bit too sozzled to care. 

It was nice to be out on a weeknight, knowing I don't have to get up in the morning. It was a bit of a trudge back to Waterloo, and I suppose when I'm tired, and had a bit too much to drink, I tend to think I couldn't do this every day, i.e. commuting. 

Predictably I just missed the faster train, so I had a drink at Pret whilst I waited. 

So sad to hear the news about the poor lady at Russell Square. I passed through there on the tube at around that time. What is this world coming to? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.