Clouds and water

We had a few things to do around Penrith, so we negotiated all the back routes to avoid Lakes traffic, and ended up at Cocklakes Farm Shop, where clickychick is often to be found. This is the lake. 
 
Book recommendation
I have just finished a book – The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it. I have the hardback edition, as I bought it when it was shortlisted for the Bailey’s Women’s Prize earlier this year, but I noticed it in the picture of Foyles that I blipped a couple of days ago and think it must now be in paperback.

It is really the story of a painting as it passes from one owner to another, but it explores many issues around art, investment in art, ownership of art . . . and love. It has been described as ‘a romp, a joy and an inspired feast of clever delights’ and I agree completely. It is Dickensian in its range of characters, its satiric look at wealth, privilege and the contemporary art world, its twists and turns and dark secrets. It is a big book and takes a while to get going, but then it gallops along, has a ‘proper’ ending, and you learn a lot about painting along the way. If you have ever wondered what a painting thinks about . . . well that’s there too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.