bananablip

By bananablip

Holiday Faces #5

Early morning drive through some of the UK's most beautiful countryside this morning. It was fun to drive through such awe-inspiring and breathtaking views and I also loved hearing SS's 'look, LOOK!' exclamations all over again.

We arrived on Mull to some fairly grey and wet weather, but if there's one thing I've learned from the super-bullies, it's that rain doesn't have to stop play. We walked down to the nearest rocky shore with HF and SS (no seals) and then dad and I set off to climb the nearest hill.

Three things I've learned today:

1. Scotland doesn't really 'do' walking paths. As long as you're well behaved and respectful, you are free to wander where you like. This is much more fun than paths. It did mean that we got ourselves into a few tricky places , searching for any deer tracks to help us and clambering through fern and bogs, but it was far more of adventure than following a well worn path.

2. Good walking boots rule. I've never owned a good pair of walking boots before but invested in some decent ones with this trip in mind. Oh my goodness. The joy of being able to walk over rocky sea paths, boggy undergrowth, through streams and up hills without worrying about your feet is the best thing ever. Did all of the above and came back with dry socks. Walks = transformed.

3. My favourite holiday destination is where the sea and hills are in close proximity. I don't really mind about the weather too much, but those two things are now a must.

Here's to a fun filled week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.